Course Review: Scott’s Bass Lessons “Reading Charts Survival Guide”

First let me say that this was a GREAT Course. I started with Scott’s Bass Lessons to try to fill in some of the missing gaps in my bass education. The Reading Charts Survival Guide course did just that. It helped me identify elements that were missing in my education, but I also learned something else by completing this course. I learned how much I already knew. This was not even a goal for me when I started, but it has been so valuable. I have a sense of confidence and understanding that wasn’t there before. I can now say that I can read music charts. I still can’t read music well, but charts I have down.

In this course I learned how to navigate, read and write music charts and lead sheets. I use this skill a lot for when I do fill-in bass gigs for a band who’s music I have never played. I write all my musical notes on an app called Setlist Helper. The information that was provided in the Reading Charts course has really helped me stream line that process. This course also brings me one step closer to my goal of being a fluent music reader. I figured that the course description bullet points would be the best way to explain the topics, so I copied and pasted it below.

In this course you’re going to learn:

  • How to understand chord symbols (and how to use that information to create bass lines)
  • How and why you should use chord progression analysis
  • Essential lead sheet navigation tips
  • The key elements you should be looking for when you first look at a chart or lead sheet
  • How to use and read repeats effectively
  • How intros and outros work and the rules surrounding them
  • How to use coda’s and understand important terminology such as DS and DC al Coda.
  • Tips on how to create your own charts and lead sheets
  • And WAY more…

I found this course to be so valuable in building knowledge and confidence in my abilities as a bassist. I cannot recommend the Reading Charts course enough. I cannot say how satisfying it is to know that reading charts is something I can do without question.

2 thoughts on “Course Review: Scott’s Bass Lessons “Reading Charts Survival Guide”

Leave a comment