Course Review: Scott’s Bass Lessons “A Bass Player’s Approach to Ear Training and Intervals”

I am really enjoying the courses that Scott’s Bass Lessons has to offer. I just finished Adam Neely’s course called, “A Bass Player’s approach to Ear Training and Intervals.” For me, this course was difficult to understand. I needed a musical dictionary to get through this course (I didn’t have one). With terms like reciprocal third of the minor fifth…. The ratio of the forty-third harmonic… One term to go up and another two terms to go down. He does does take time to explain the terms, but they are quick and hard to remember when you mix in all the other terms.

I don’t believe that this course needed to be as complicated as Adam Neely made it out to be. This course was much shorter than the other courses I took at Scott’s Bass Lessons. It has only three lessons to get through. But… I found it hard to get through each video. It was definitely not an easy watch.

In spite of the difficulties that I had with this video, I did understand what I needed to learn to accomplish my goals of identifying Chords and Intervals by ear. I was fortunate enough to find an app to help me do this. I will review this app in another post after I get to spend some more time using it.

I wish that he would have included more ways to practice for learning and mastering the art of ear training. I may have to watch this entire course again in an attempt to fully understand it, but that won’t be done any time soon.

I don’t recommend “A Bass Player’s approach to Ear Training and Intervals” for a beginning bassist. I consider myself to be an Intermediate Bassist and I struggled big time with this course. I am hesitant to say that this course was a success, but I did gain knowledge and understanding from taking the course. I did not gain knowledge and understanding of the complete course, but I now have a starting point to further my goals.

If you have taken this course, let us know how it worked out for you. If you have any tips, tricks, or exercises for learning how to identify intervals and chords by ear, please let us know.

Additive:

I later found these videos that provided some insight and exercises for ear training:

See Also:

Leave a comment